Peaceful

Today at school we were talking about a young teacher who moved to the Marshall Islands to work. She’s been posting the most amazing photos of the sunsets and sunrises from her constant life vacation. Today they were captioned with a comment about the peaceful time before work.

We were discussing what peaceful times for us entail, and it took me too long to think of peace in my life.

Now, keep in mind that I have a sick baby who kept me up all night. I am also taking steroids for my uveitis, so I am a pretty jittery person these days. And then add to the fact that I am never alone. Like never ever alone.

I sleep with people. I bathe with people. I go to work with people. I am with people all day long.

Friday I had about 20 minutes alone: I stayed at school after my office mate left and didn’t call for my ride until the last minute that I could. I knew that Victor was home with fussy Jojo, but I selfishly took 20 minutes. (I mean, I was working…but still…)

I think I need to work on defining peaceful times in my life–or preplanning? In any case, this mama needs some peace, and morning sunrises on the beach aren’t an option for me…this year.

Leave a Reply

