Halloween? No thanks.

It’s official:  I’m as boring as can be.

This is the first October 31st I haven’t celebrated my favorite October holiday!  Every year it’s the same thing:  I wait until October 29th or 30th and then rush to get my costume made.  For the last three years (I think), my sister and I have had a party.  I have some great memories at our Halloween parties!  Throughout the years, it’s been such a big deal; I always make a list so that I won’t ever be a repeater.  Here’s 20+ years in a few lines:

  • Kindergarten     Minnie Mouse
  • First Grade   Daisy Duck
  • Second Grade   Laura Ingles Wilder
  • Third Grade   An Indian girl
  • Fourth Grade   A Karate Kid
  • Fifth Grade  A Party meant no costume this year
  • Sixth Grade
  • Seventh Grade
  • Eighth Grade
  • Ninth Grade   A Hippie
  • Tenth Grade
  • Eleventh Grade
  • Twelveth Grade  A Pirate Princess
  • 19
  • 20  A Nerd
  • 21  A Ladybug
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24   A Bad Witch
  • 25   Max (Where the Wild Things Are)
  • 26   (How come I can’t remember what I was LAST YEAR???)
  • 27  Myself, and I am pretty scary these days.

Wow.  Did you see that? I guess I am older than I thought.  It seems that this is the first time I haven’t been able to remember all my costumes!!  This is a sad day for me.  I expect it to be a sad day for you too…  Highlight of my day: Playing with the kiddos who FINALLY know my name.  Cutest trick-or-treaters ever.

This is also the first year I’ve dreaded my other favorite holiday: Thanksgiving.   Last year’s Christmas was the best of my whole life too.  Is this what the next few months are going to be like?  Me making plans to hide away from everyone on the holidays??  I’m pulling all the stops to figure out how I will see the world as a diversion.  Lucky for me, I have friends in far away places.  Sadly, I don’t have the cha-ching to travel in style.

Leave a Reply

